Day 21: Getting outside.

I started this thing in our Microsoft Teams meetings called the “Daily Resilience Question,” inspired by these Six Daily Questions to Ask Yourself in Quarantine. Each meeting ends with one question and an invitation for the team to share how they will answer it. Today’s question, “How am I enjoying nature today?” brings mixed feelings. Maybe that’s why I chose it.

All around us, parks and beaches are closing, schools are locking their fields, parking lots at popular natural spots are being barricaded. I understand the danger of crowding and the need to enforce social distancing. I get it. But for some reason, these closures really get under my skin. It’s bothering me in a way the other restrictions are not.

My childhood in the mountains of Southwestern Virginia was unruly. My relationship with nature was messy, unorganized, and intimate. I climbed trees to the top and sat for hours. I swam in ponds, lakes, rivers. I caught salamanders and turtles and lightning bugs. I ran barefoot in fields, lay on my back, watched clouds. I sat on logs in the forest and let the heavy quiet settle into my bones. The collection of these wild hours are a source of fierce strength and I would not trade them for anything.

When we moved here, I fell in love with the people and culture of Silicon Valley, but I resist this suburban life. Our condo complex is nicely landscaped, with patches of green grass and pretty flowers. But my baby can’t crawl in the grass, because of all the dog poop. And my kid can’t pick the flowers, because they’re “on purpose” flowers, not wild flowers. So basically we just walk around the sidewalk and ride bikes in the parking lot. It’s outside, yes. But does it count as enjoying nature?

We are lucky; we can still take walks and go to neighborhood parks. I know many of you in quarantine are not even allowed to do that, and I feel for you.

“How am I enjoying nature today?” We’re going to have to get creative answering this question for now. For some, it will be a quiet moment in your garden, or a chat with your houseplant. Watching a “jelly cam” or other live video feed of creatures from a number of wonderful zoos. My kid will jump in puddles and stare at snails on the sidewalk. My baby will squeal and smack the leaves on neatly trimmed bushes.

It’s not the same, but it will have to do for now.

What am I grateful for today?

That we can still go outside for walks.

What do I wish I had done before the Quarantine?

Taken the kids on more hikes around California.

 

 

Your blatherings