Corn selfie and a curious cucumber.

“I should go by the Farm today,” I tell Sal. “Just to water a few spots that the hose doesn’t reach. And feed the worms.”

I try to convince a kid to come with me. “Come on, you should see the corn! And there’s lots of bugs!” Neither of them are interested.

“Take some pictures,” Sal suggests. “Take a selfie next to the corn so we can see how tall it is.”

It’s almost as high as my shoulder! It’s my first time ever growing corn. There’s a new grainy looking thing on top of one of the plants. I bat it with interest.

Tomatoes have broken through their cage. Their feathery arms reach with what can only be described as vegetable aggression towards their plant neighbors. The echinacea’s once cheerful blooms duck in alarm at the assault. Time to fortify the barrier!

Clockwise from top: Tomatoes bending their stakes with unnatural strength, corn, cucumbers and squashes behaving rather nicely in their cage, sunflowers, watermelon, sugar pie pumpkin, peppers, basil, marigolds, strawberries, sage, oregano, a lemon tree on its second resurrection attempt, and a Lady Godiva pumpkin.

My micro-harvest today yields the usual smattering of herbs and cherry tomatoes, and the Farm’s first cucumber! It’s not the usual cucumber shape.

Mint, echinacea flower and leaf, chilis of various sorts, basil, and a curious cucumber.

Looks more like a squash, doesn’t it? I wonder if the cucumber plant believes it’s a squash plant. I would not be surprised. The Farm is a strange place.

Your blatherings