Grand Finale

I have written and erased many words trying to capture my first glance of the yawning mouth of infinite rock that is the Grand Canyon.  And several hours later, watching a slow and glorious ballet of color dancing over the canyon as the sun set.

I find the experiences I most want to capture in words evade me entirely.

Photo courtesy of Sal

Grand Canyon, South Rim. Photo courtesy of Sal

I can, however, offer some practical advice:

1. Bring a good pair of hiking boots.  You’ll walk for hours and not realize it.  I have discarded 85% of my wardrobe in the process of moving from the U.K. and lacked even tennis shoes to wear.  I shopped for hours in Flagstaff, AZ for a pair of women’s hiking boots with no luck.  I finally settled on a pair of men’s hunting boots that we found in Wal-Mart.   Not great, but they did the trick.  Better to bring your own.

'Merica!

‘Merica!

2. Stay for sunset or come for sunrise.  Sunset at Lipan Point (South Rim)  was downright phenomenal.

Nearing the end of our transcontinental adventure, I can’t think of anything more grand than this finale.

Sunset at Lipan Point - the Indian Watchtower visible to the right

Sunset at Lipan Point – the Indian Watchtower visible to the right

Sunset at Tipan Point, Grand Canyon. Photo courtesy of Sal

Your blatherings

