beetroot theory

I was plucking chunks of mud caked to the skin of a beetroot when it hit me.  This is further evidence that Rational Choice Theory is flawed!  This beetroot!

dirty beet

I don’t like beets, but they come in my weekly veg bag, so I have this problem where I end up with a pile of dirty beets and nothing to do with them.  Rational Man might try to sell these beets on ebay, or chuck them at someone they dislike, perhaps, or chuck the nasty little beasts in the food recycling, where they belong.

Rational Man would NOT, however, be standing in the kitchen on a Sunday evening, dusting off beets to make them slightly more presentable, only to bring them to work and distribute them for free to his (bizarre) colleagues who (ACTUALLY) like beets.

What utility-maximising person would do this?

THEY WOULDN’T!  Yet here I stand, cleaning dirty veg for others!  Ergo, Rational Choice Theory has a beet-shaped hole in it!

I resume my task, feeling vindicated in this small, but satisfying, jab at neo-Classical economics.

 

2 responses to “beetroot theory

Your blatherings

