tea time with the deceased

Look, just once, ok?  Just once I’d like to have tea with John Maynard Keynes.  Is that so much to ask?  I’ll make the tea, I’ll bring scones and clotted cream.  I just want to hang out, have a few laughs, talk about the weather, you know.

I spent the weekend reading a biography about economic magicians of the past, basking in their cerebral glory, and it made me a little sad.  And a bit wistful.

Where are the great philosophers? Where did they go?  Why is my time on this planet not chock full of renaissance people and beautiful prose on monetary policy?  Why does the universe produce greatness in spurts?

We could use a little greatness right now.  I ain’t saying Keynes or Hayek could get us out of this wacky financial tangle we’ve woven.  It’s not their place anyway; it’s our mess, we ought to clean it up.  But I sure would like to have their two cents.  (Tuppence?)

Sigh.  There’s nothing more pitiful than a melancholy nerd.

 

 

Your blatherings

