nerds

Sometimes I geek out and forget myself.  Like today.  Let me explain.

I used to be obsessed with reggae, many moons ago.  It was a phase, so I thought, and in fact I learned it is a common phase for white people to go through in college.  So I was surprised at the effect the movie Marley had on me.  I was giddy (GIDDY) when I heard it was coming out.  And Kevin MacDonald, the director, was doing a Q&A at the Ritzy Brixton (!!!) but I didn’t go.  I kept my cool.  I asked around, asked some friends, casually, if they maybe wanted to catch this 2.5 hour documentary, you know, just to see if it’s any good….and surprise, surprise, I had a hard time finding anyone.  But finally, I convinced my very, very tolerant husband and a friend from work to go this weekend.  Yesterday I bought a record set of Tough Gong classics and played them over, and over, and over.  Just to warm up.  And today we went to the movie and OMG OMG OMG it was awesome!!  It was all I could do to not sing every word of every song and holy crap, there’s Bunny Wailer and he’s all talking and stuff and Rita and Desmond Dekker and !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Then I had to go and write a whole blog about it, and there, I’ve done it.  I’ve outted myself as a recovering reggae nerd.

What is a nerd, anyway?  Wikipedia says nerds are social rejects with intellectual obsessions with science, technology, and fantasy stuff.  With all respect due the global internet collective consciousness, this definition is a bit cliche.  You can get nerdy about anything – not just mathy and sciencey stuff.  I’ve seen chick friends of mine geek out over shoes.  It’s like a laser of excitement pointed at one subject, until you’ve burned a hole through that mofo.  Until everyone’s eyes glaze over and they start slinking away.  So perhaps the subject isn’t what’s important (calculus, falconry, West Indian poetry, beenie babies…) – it’s the obsessive nature of your interest in it.

Nerds.  They’re out there, and they could be anyone.  Even you.  Even Brad Pitt.

Your blatherings

